John Mayer – Heartbreak Warfare

這首是 John Mayer 今年發行的第四張專輯的開場新歌,關於情侶吵架,雖然 John Mayer 吵架的事物絕對不會和我們這般市井小民相同(?),且對象也不簡單(珍妮佛安妮絲頓?),但裡面幾個段落的歌詞不得不說真是深得我心,而且寫的漂亮極了。

空氣中佈滿硫磺味,砲彈碎片散落一地
這是心碎戰事,一旦你想開打,沒人真正能獲勝
Clouds of sulfur in the air, bombs are falling everywhere
It’s heartbreak warfare, once you want it to begin,
no one really every wins, in heartbreak warfare

還有以下這段,翻成中文雖然不那麼順暢些,但我非常同意當情侶摩擦但心裡其實還是真愛對方時,你是很難讓他明白你還是愛著他,而他還是在傷害著你,這樣。

為什麼讓你知道我被你擺弄多高的方法,是讓你看我跌落多大
只有上天知道我多麼愛你,如果你讓我
但我不能自在表達
How come the only way to know how high you get me
is to see how far I fall
God only knows how much I’d love you if you let me
but I can’t break free at all.

副歌唱到:如果你需要更多的愛,為何不說出來
If you want more love,
why don’t you say so?

其實有時候兩人會有爭吵,有時只是太在乎對方了,而兩人沒好好溝通清楚好好表達而已。

這張專輯名稱叫做「Battle Studies」(戰事研究?) 看來是 John 情場跌跌撞撞的滿腹情歌,目前聽了一個多禮拜,整張專輯越來越好聽,像是 Half Of My Heart、War Of My Life、Edge Of Desire 都是我現在會想要一再重複播放的 (Half Of My Heart 請來美國鄉村暢銷大美女歌手 Taylor Swift 輕哼兩句助唱,幫這首歌大加分)。整張專輯風格非常「葛萊美獎 Grammy Awards」,可以想見 John 又要在次多項入圍明年獎項外加第五座最佳流行男歌手表演獎(為什麼他前三張專輯硬生生可以已經拿下四座了呢)

這張專輯發行前拍了幾個短片放在這張專輯的微型網站,其中「片段三」我覺得配樂非常舒服好聽,取景在日本,有興趣請看以下 youtube 影片。


七首歌了,很多事情還在進行之中。去了日本旅行一個禮拜,想要非常安靜的旅行,可以聽聽我內心在說什麼。四個字建議:獨自旅行。…我保持平靜,讓生活帶領我向前。
Seven songs in… lots going on. Took a week off and traveled Japan. Wanted to get really quiet so I could hear what my head was saying. Two words of advice: travel alone. Music via an 8am jetlag pop-awake and Native Instruments Acoustik Piano. I took a break from still photography and used a Panasonic HVX200 HD camera. I stayed still, let life move in front of me. Man, am I deep!

這是歌迷自製的關於這首音樂錄影帶,很直接的表達歌詞意境,而且還運用了科技軟體讓 John 對了嘴,真是太厲害了。

胸膛滿漲,想著許多方法讓你知道我的痛苦
空氣中佈滿硫磺味,砲彈碎片散落一地
這是心碎戰事,一旦你想開打,沒人真正能獲勝

如果你需要更多的愛,為何不說出來
像把刀刺入轉了又轉
看著我的臉,要我假裝一點都不痛

為什麼讓你知道我被你擺弄多高的方法,是讓你看我跌落多大
只有上天知道我多麼愛你,如果你讓我
但我不能自在表達

不在乎是否我們今晚睡了沒
讓我們好好處理,如果你放下你的武器
但你又滿口胡言了,好個心碎戰事
失落也有他的名字,就是心碎戰事

Lightning strikes
Inside, my chest to keep me up at night
Dream of ways
To make you understand my pain

Clouds of sulfur in the air
Bombs are falling everywhere
It’s heartbreak warfare
Once you want it to begin,
No one really every wins
In heartbreak warfare

If you want more love,
why don’t you say so?
If you want more love,
why don’t you say so?

Drop his name
Push it in and twist the knife again
Watch my face
As I pretend to feel no pain

Clouds of sulfur in the air
Bombs are falling everywhere
It’s heartbreak warfare
Once you want it to begin,
No one really ever wins
In heartbreak warfare.

If you want more love,
why don’t you say so?
If you want more love,
why don’t you say so?

Just say so…

How come the only way to know how high you get me
is to see how far I fall
God only knows how much I’d love you if you let me
but I can’t break free at all.

It’s a heartbreak…

I don’t care if we don’t sleep at all tonight
Let’s just fix this whole thing now
I swear to God we’re gonna get it right
If you lay your weapon down
Red wine and ambien
You’re talking shit again, it’s heartbreak warfare
Good to know it’s all a game
Disappointment has a name, it’s heartbreak warfare.

John Mayer
Official Battle Studies microsite
Wikipedia

發表迴響

